Africa - Asia - Europe - South America - North America

You are here: Home > Public Schools in New Jersey

New Jersey Public Schools by County

The territory of New Jersey was populated by Indian Lenapes (or Delawares) when their coasts were identified by Giovanni IP Verrazano in 1524, then by Henry Hudson in 1609, before colonized by the Dutch, under the direction of Peter Stuyvesant, founded in 1624 the colony of Fort Nassau (today Gloucester) and 1630 the colony of Pavonia (today Jersey).

In 1655, they supplanted the Swedish (News-Sweden) colonies of the Delaware valley. In 1664, Charles II of England attributed the whole territory between the Connecticut and Delaware rivers to his brother, the Duke of York (future King Jacques II), after which the Dutch colonies were annexed and the territory of New Jersey granted to Exmo . Sir George Carteret and John Berkeley. The name of the State originates from the island Jersey, located in Manga, birthplace of Hon. Sir George Carteret. In 1674, the sale of Berkeley territory to a Quaker consortium led to the split of New Jersey: eastern Jersey and western Jersey. The two Jersey were reunified in 1702 and the colony was united to the Crown of England.

In 1776, New Jersey was among the thirteen colonies that proclaimed its independence. The state was also the theater of major battles during the American War of Independence (battles of Trenton and Princeton in 1776, Monmouth in 1778, Springfield in 1780). December 18, 1787, New Jersey was the third state to ratify the federal constitution. During the 19th century, the State experienced an important industrial and urban development. Industrial and demographic growth again accelerated after World War II.

  • COUNTRYAAH.COM: Provides a list of all holidays in the state of New Jersey when both banks and schools are closed, including national wide and world holidays, such as New Year, Christmas, and Thanksgiving Day, as well as regional holidays of New Jersey.
  • Do you know how many acronyms that contain the word New Jersey? Check this site to see all abbreviations and initials that include New Jersey.
New Jersey Public Schools by County

Universities, scientific institutions in New Jersey

Princeton University
Priceton University was founded in Elizabeth in 1746 as the "College of New Jersey" and moved to Princeton in 1756, where it received its current name. It is the fourth oldest school in the entire United States and is known and respected worldwide as the Ivy League University - that is, as an elite university. With $ 17 billion per capita, it is also the richest university that has ever existed. However, it is not financed solely by the students' payment power, which is even ignored in the university's admission policy. It offers 34 different Bachelor courses. The master can be obtained in 13 different areas.

Jersey Institute of Technology in Newark
The Jersey Institute of Technology in Newark is a state research university that was founded in the New York Metropolitan Area in 1881 and was expanded in 1975 with the construction of its architecture school. It is attended by around 10,000 students and is now divided into five different faculties. It offers 126 different final programs, 48 ​​of which earn the bachelor's degree and 78 are divided into the master's or PhD. The titles are earned at the following colleges:
Newark College of Engineering
The College of Architecture and Design
School of Management
The Albert Dorman Honors College
The College of Science and Liberal Arts
College of Computing Science

State University of New Jersey
The State University of New Jersey, also known as Rutgers University, is the state's official state university and the largest educational institution in New Jersey. It was founded in 1776 as Queen's College and was the eighth oldest educational institution in North America at the time. In 1946 she merged with the former University of Newark and today consists of this Rutgers-Newark campus and two other colleges in New Brunswick and Camden. It offers around 100 different Bachelor and Master programs and awards around 80 doctoral degrees in a wide variety of fields. The Rutgers camps are attended by around 57,000 students, around three-quarters of whom are completing their Bachelor's degrees.

Hall University
Seton Hall University in South Orange near Newark was founded in 1856 as a private Roman Catholic university. It is the oldest diocesan university in the United States and the largest Catholic university in New Jersey. Therefore, she is particularly known for her theology program, but she also has a good reputation in economics, diplomacy and pedagogy. There are a total of around 10,000 students studying at eight faculties with 160 subjects.

Stevens Institute of Technology
The Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken near Jersey City is a private university founded in 1870 and the fourth oldest technical university in the United States. Considered one of the best of its kind, it was the first university in the world in 1982 to require its students to own a computer, making it a restriction on admissions. The institute is attended by around 5,000 Bachelor and Master students and is divided into the following four faculties:

  • School of Engineering and Science
  • School of Technology Management
  • School of Systems and Enterprises
  • School of Arts and Letters


View by Country

Afghanistan Albania
Angola Argentina
Armenia Australia
Austria Azerbaijan
Bahrain Bangladesh
Belgium Belarus
Benin Bhutan
Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina
Botswana Brazil
Bulgaria Burkina Faso
Burma Burundi
Cambodia Cameroon
Canada Cape Verde
Central African Republic Chad
Chile China
Colombia Costa Rica
Croatia Cuba
Cyprus Czech Republic
Democratic Republic of Congo Denmark
Dominican Republic Ecuador
Egypt Estonia
Ethiopia Faroe Islands
Finland France
Gabon Georgia
Germany Ghana
Greece Greenland
Guatemala Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Guyana
Haiti Honduras
Hong Kong Hungary
Iceland India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Ireland
Israel Italy
Jamaica Japan
Jordan Kazakhstan
Kenya Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Latvia Lebanon
Liberia Libya
Lithuania Luxembourg
Madagascar Malawi
Malaysia Mali
Malta Mauritania
Mexico Moldova
Mongolia Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Nepal Netherlands
New Zealand Nicaragua
Niger Nigeria
North Korea Northern Macedonia
Norway Oman
Pakistan Panama
Papua New Guinea Paraguay
Peru Philippines
Poland Portugal
Qatar Republic of Congo
Romania Russia
Rwanda Saudi Arabia
Senegal Serbia
Sierra Leone Singapore
Slovakia Slovenia
Solomon Islands Somalia
South Africa South Korea
South Sudan Spain
Sri Lanka Sudan
Suriname Swaziland
Sweden Switzerland
Syria Taiwan
Tajikistan Tanzania
Thailand Togo
Tunisia Turkey
Turkmenistan Uganda
Ukraine United Arab Emirates
United Kingdom USA
Uruguay Uzbekistan
Vatican City Venezuela
Vietnam Yemen
Zambia Zimbabwe



Copyright 2021 Search for Public Schools | Home | Africa - Asia - Europe - North America - Oceania - South America